Item added to your cart.

Planet µ
Catalogue Number
Release Date
June 14, 2024
  • Grush - Vinyl - 2×LP, Limited Coloured + Extra Grush Cassette:

    Pre-order $44.99
    • Extra Grush Cassette Limited Edition Cassette

    • Grush Vinyl, 2×LP, Limited Coloured Limited Edition Glow in the Dark Vinyl 2xLP

    • + WAV / FLAC

    Bundle contains the Glow in the Dark 2×LP as well as Extra Grush Cassette featuring 10 exclusive tracks.

    Available: June 14, 2024

  • Vinyl 2×LP, Limited Coloured

    Pre-order $34.99

    Limited Edition Glow in the Dark Vinyl 2xLP

    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC

    Estimated release date: June 14, 2024

  • CD

    Pre-order $14.99

    Limited Compact Disc

    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC

    Estimated release date: June 14, 2024

  • Download

    Pre-order $9.99
    Select format

    320 kbps, LAME-encoded

    Available: June 14, 2024

Mike Paradinas, veteran producer and Planet Mu label owner has written a new album called ‘Grush' and it's full of weird bangers that reclaim the 'dance' part of the woeful term IDM. A back-to-first-principles record, inspired in part by the group of artists IDM was coined for; melodic dance music that didn't come out of urban scenes, but interpreted them from a distance.

The tracks on ‘Grush’ are all road-tested live favorites developed with feedback from Mike's touring partner and visuals guy Mora (Jan Moravec). It's a detailed and energetic journey which replicates the flow of a live gig. A lot of the tracks have been made in hotel rooms in response to shows, ‘Imperial Crescent’ is named after a Japanese Hotel, as is ‘Belvedere’ in Prague, while some tracks such as ‘Hyper Daddy’ were created specifically to play live.

Drums are confidently at the fore here and the album feels like it traces Mike's musical history and interests neatly around his sweetly nostalgic melodies, with atmospheres and structures which twist and turn with a charming softness which contrasts with the tension in the drums. Take ‘Hyper Daddy’s’ spiralling notes and twinkling piano which remind one of early Black Dog or Omni Trio rushing alongside splashy jungle drums, or the aquatic acid footwork of the title track with its drums softly bubbling and kicking. Elsewhere there's territory which harks back to his Tusken Raiders pseudonym, like the heads down Drexciyan funk of ‘Windsor Safari Park,’ which transforms from moody electro into a sunny hardcore track midway. The album is interspersed with Reticulum A, B and C  at the start middle and end of the album which suggest a theme which carries across the music in an effortless and joyful way. ‘Grush’ is a strong album that works both for listening and DJing and a great snapshot of where Mike Paradinas musical head is at in 2024.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Reticulum A 4:29
  2. 2 Hyper Daddy 5:25 Buy

    Hyper Daddy

  3. 3 Fogou 2:45
  4. 4 Magic Pony Ride (Pt.4) 2:48
  5. 5 Imperial Crescent 3:42
  6. 6 Reticulum B 3:45
  7. 7 Grush 3:09
  8. 8 Belvedere 3:33
  9. 9 Raver 3:06
  10. 10 Windsor Safari Park 5:35 Buy

    Windsor Safari Park

  11. 11 Hastings 2:47
  12. 12 Manscape 5:23
  13. 13 Metaphonk 5:05
  14. 14 Reticulum C 4:46


View More


--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences